Skip to content

COMEDY: “Dance Flick” starring the Wayans Clan

May 26, 2009

dance-flick*Sigh*

Clearly I’m a glutton for punishment. I don’t know why I doubted my gut instincts about this film, as the Wayans Brothers have not come with anything fresh for a long time. Watching this film has OFFICIALLY confirmed to me that the spoof genre is absolutely PLAYED OUT. How many gay jokes, fart gags and fat people pokes can you put in one movie? … Or SEVERAL movies when it comes to the case of the Wayans Brothers.

Sure, the film has its moments — you can find them in the trailer — and Damien Wayans, Jr. is pretty much the exact comedy replica of his father and uncles, but that’s not necessarily a good thing. It means he doesn’t offer anything new or fresh to the genre.

Dance Flick just felt like one big inside joke for the Wayans Clan. I have a feeling that they found this WAYYYY funnier than its intended audience did …

If you have watched all the dance movies that have come out in the last decade, you’ll be somewhat entertained, as they found a way to blend all these movies together in what seems to pass off as a storyline. But at certain parts of the movie, it’s clear that they tried to cram TOO much pop culture relevance into the film. One particular scene gives a weird homage to Twilight. Really? What does Twilight have to do with dancing? And YES, I’m embarrassed that I recognized the scene immediately (I did NOT see Twilight on purpose). I was pleased, however, that they brought Kim Wayans back, though briefly. Why don’t they USE her more? Am I the only one who finds her hilarious?

Anyway, if this is ALL that the next generation of Wayans has to offer, then their dynasty will soon collapse on the basis of “tired and unfunny mediocrity.” Think about it, where’s Leslie Nielson? The former champion of spoofs was at the top of his game, starring in films like the Naked Gun series and Spy Hard, and then what happened? We got TIRED of the same old jokes and the same old concept. Then the Wayans came out with Scary Movie and seemed to revitalize that concept — they made it younger, funnier and way more immature, which was fine at the time, but now … I think it’s a wrap.

I’m hoping that dance movies are the last possible genre left to spoof and that the Wayans Brothers can move on to new terrain.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 5:42 am

    I refuse…

    That is all.

  2. May 27, 2009 2:15 pm

    I’m a fan of Kim Wayans; I heard from several people that the movie was a flop. This is one of those, “I’ll wait until it goes to dvd,” flicks. The recession doesn’t allow waisting of funds…

  3. yeahisaiditworld permalink
    May 27, 2009 4:24 pm

    I heard that the movie was very funny! We have to remember that when movie producers are making funny movies, that they are projecting their work to a particular age group. This movie is being projected to the age group of maybe 16 yrs. to maybe 30 yrs. old, in which to them, this material is new and funny! Anyone older than 35+ has seen this sort of humorous material before, not only with the Wayans, but with other actors in the field of comedy many times over, so we’re tired of it, and it’s probably a lil’ immature at this point for our taste, but it doesn’t mean that it’s not funny. Like me, I’m through with all the barbershop/hair salon flicks, regardless of whether the movie cast is prredominantly white or black. I’m ready for something different and appealing to my maturity level.

  4. June 1, 2009 6:34 pm

    This movie is played…pure don’t-even-send-direct-to-DVD dreck. Equal opportunity coonery. Bleccch!! … my hyper inflated 2 sense.

  5. Rocky Horror permalink*
    June 1, 2009 7:41 pm

    @em2wice: “Equal opportunity coonery” haha!!

  6. Mangoqueen permalink
    June 3, 2009 8:39 pm

    “Drop Squad” prepares the Black Van and comes for the whole damn Wayan’s family.

Trackbacks

  1. JUST WATCHED: “Dance Flick” starring the Wayans Clan « Issa Rae

Leave a Reply

